Monday, June 20, 2011

AR Homeschool Links

Welcome to Homeschooling through the 50 States today we are visiting Arkansas!

arkansas-12-07a_thumb[1]

Getting Started
HSLDA New Homeschoolers
AR Department of Education
Law
Home School Legal Defense Association
HSLDA AR homepage
AR Law Analysis
AR Legal brief

Statewide support groups
Searchable database for AR support groups
Homeschool Centrals AR links page
Lot’s of great regional groups here!
AR Homeschool
Yahoo support groups
Used Curriculum Yahoo group
Central AR Homeschoolers Yahoo group
N.A.C.H.O. Yahoo group
Searching Yahoo Groups with the terms “Arkansas homeschool”, “Arkansas Homeschooling”, or “Arkansas Homeschoolers” I found there are quite a few groups listed.

Methods
About.com Articles and Links
Homeschool Advisor
Homeschool stores and curriculum providers
Rainbow Resource
Christian Book Distributors
Timberdoodle
Currclick

Free
http://amblesideonline.org/
http://oldfashionededucation.com/

Compulsory attendance: Between the ages of 5 and 17 on or before September 15th of that year (2011-2012 school year and after the dates are changed to August 1st). A kindergarten waiver is available for students not yet 6 by the date for that particular year.

Required Days/Subjects: None Specified.
Teacher Qualifications: None.
Standardized Tests: No minimum score must be achieved. Every student that is being homeschooled and in a grade level (or no more than 2 years above the normal age for that grade) which testing is mandated for the state, currently grades 3-9, must take a nationally recognized norm-referenced achievement test selected by the State Board of Education.

Unless alternate testing procedures are approved, the administration of the tests is the responsibility of the directors of the education service cooperatives. The cost of testing is
the responsibility of the Department of Education unless an alternate testing procedure is approved.

Home School Statute: Ark. Stat. Ann. § 6-15-501 et. seq.

Letter of Intent: Must file written notice by August 15th for the beginning of each year, or by December 15th for the spring semester, or 14 days before withdrawing a child from the local school district during the school year. If moving into a school district during the school year the notice must be filed within 30 days of establishing residency. The current year forms can be found HERE.


Disclaimer: In no way is this the only info you need. Do your research and do your part to keep homeschooling free for all of us. This is for informational purposes only and not legal advice.

Mandy

1 comment:

Our Country Road said...

What a great list of links! Stopping by from the TOS crew, looking forward to getting to know you better!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...